A STRANGER’S DREAM, INSPIRATION AND THE LESSONS

sss2It’s slightly after 9pm on this Sunday night. Man – U has just humiliated Man City in this hyped derby. From a gooner’s perspective, I feel a bit nervous. Nevertheless, we’re still number 2, I console myself. I drift along the corridor, alone, checking over my phone. I meet this security chap towards the exit and he stops me. In my mind I’m a bit agitated. Why would he stop me now, in any case, I had been in that hotel for god knows how long. Didn’t he see me? I remain patient, he’s like, “hi, would you be having a hint of a school where one can study computer?” He bubbled. I was surprised. I expected him to ask something security – related. Why would a security guy be bothered by computer studies? That’s for high school leavers who were not lucky to get the exposure in school or home. Forgive me for stepping on your toes. I passed through the same stage too. In fact, during our times, it was so ‘cool’ to learn how to operate computers. Am not sure of now, its so basic, I presume.

Anyway, I had some leads for this chap. He was so glad. I left, pondering on that conversation. This guy made my day. One, because I’m not sure why he chose to confab with me, amongst the hundreds of patrons who frequent that hotel. He and I were complete strangers, until we had that brief conversation. Second, I was impressed by the fact that this chap had a dream, a valid one, no matter how ‘small’ it was. He was not comfortable with the status quo. He was need of growth. He had a desire to add value to his life. He was willing to pay the price, by sacrificing his meager salary and get a computer studies course. He was willing to start from somewhere. To do the baby steps. He had this vision in his mind. He was now researching on his ideas, even if that meant approaching random strangers on the course of his duty. He was acting on his ideas. His passion was visible. Why I say so, is because many of us inquire from our friends. To him may be they didn’t offer much, and that would never be a deterrent. He chose to try strangers. That’s passion right there and positive attitude too combined with self drive.

This hombre inspired me. I learnt lessons. To be self driven. To confront the future and domesticate it. To ask questions and not to keep dreams to myself. Not to sit on my ideas as many of us do. Dreaming is not enough, actualising your dream by constantly coming up with a time plan is what matters. This guy was not shy of his dreams. Don’t be shy of your dreams. Don’t be intimidated by your friends who drive alluring cars. Who have bought plots all over and who are invested left right and center. Learn from them, get to know the mistakes they made and lessons learnt. Start your own baby steps. Put your eyes on the prize. Stay on the move, don’t accept to stagnate. Pay the price, wake up early, work hard, manage your time wisely, network, research. Don’t live in a closet. You’ll never grow. Remain hopeful, have the right attitude like this security guy. Be confident and defend your dream. Pray day in day out.

sss1Dear reader, make somebody’s day. Hug a stranger today. Share the love. Give free advice. Mentor someone. Don’t treat people below your cadre with contempt, as they say you’ll need them while coming down. Thank a waiter for good service, or your barber or the salon dude or that chap who cleans your car. Spread the love. Give way in traffic, if you’re in a position to. Say hi to your gardener as you leave for work. Smile to that office cleaner. Blow kisses to those nagging street children. Share with them the snacks in your hand bag. Check on a friend. The most precious things in life are priceless. You’ll notice, they’ll be surprised by your simple traits. Its because we’re living in selfish times. Of self centered people who only care about themselves and their immediate families.

sssSharing, caring, and loving are the virtues we need to embrace more. And carrying along others in our trajectory of life. To love others a little more than ourselves. By so doing, you’ll have a rich legacy. Your eulogy will be punctuated by beautiful words people can relate to and which will ignite memories. The world will miss your presence when you’re long gone. And most importantly, your creator will be proud of you.

Your challenge everyday should be bringing joy to somebody’s life. Let’s try that.

9 thoughts on “A STRANGER’S DREAM, INSPIRATION AND THE LESSONS

Leave a Reply

